Breaking News Bar
updated: 9/21/2012 4:44 PM

Illinois news broadcasters honor chief justice

Success - Article sent! close
  • Thomas Kilbride

    Thomas Kilbride

Associated Press

SPRINGFIELD -- The Illinois News Broadcasters Association has named Illinois Supreme Court Chief Justice Thomas Kilbride as the recipient of its 2012 Illinoisan of the Year award.

The association and the Supreme Court made the announcement Friday. Kilbride will receive the honor at the association's convention this weekend in St. Louis. Kilbride is being honored for initiating a pilot program to allow cameras in Illinois courts and increasing access to courts for residents.

Kilbride says the pilot project is working well and with the cooperation of news media is "expanding across the state."

INBA immediate past president Jim Gee says Kilbride was the unanimous choice for "his overall support of openness in government." Previous recipients include former Govs. Jim Edgar and James Thompson and former U.S. Attorney Patrick Fitzgerald.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.