Breaking News Bar
posted: 2/28/2012 12:01 AM

Our choices for DuPage forest board, GOP

Success - Article sent! close
The Daily Herald Editorial Board

Republican voters in the March 20 primary will nominate DuPage County Forest Preserve commissioners in three contested races to advance to the November general election.

Four newcomers -- Kory Atkinson of Roselle, Pete Connolly of Wayne, Al Murphy of West Chicago and Art Pierscionek of Bartlett -- will compete in District 6 for the seat vacated by retiring Commissioner Roger Kotecki. The district covers much of western DuPage.

All four candidates have solid credentials. We endorse Connolly, a retired commercial banker, who combines financial know-how with a strong background with area conservation and preservation groups.

In District 4, which covers much of central DuPage, longtime incumbent Mike Formento, who heads the Glen Ellyn Chamber of Commerce, faces challenger Tim Whelan, a Wheaton attorney. We endorse Formento, who brings a wealth of knowledge and accessibility to the commission.

In District 5, which covers much of the southwest portion of the county, incumbent Carl Schultz of Aurora faces challenges from Charles Schneider of Naperville, an executive with an information technology security firm, and Mary Lou Wehrli, a sales woman from Naperville. We endorse Wehrli for her potential as a fresh voice on the commission who will reach out to the community, stress transparency and make good use of her background in preservation and conservation.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.