NEW YORK -- Already being outplayed by Sam Stosur in the U.S. Open final, the last thing Serena Williams needed was to lose a game for yelling during a point.
That's exactly what happened early in the second set, leading to an argument between Williams and the chair umpire, a scene less ugly than -- but reminiscent of -- the American's tirade two years ago at the same tournament.
Contact information ( * required )
In the end, Stosur beat Williams 6-2, 6-3 Sunday in a surprisingly lopsided upset for her first Grand Slam title.
"I think I had one of my best days," Stosur said. "I'm very fortunate to do it on this stage."
The men's final today (3 p.m., CBS) will feature a rematch between Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic.
This was only the 27-year-old Stosur's third title at any tour-level event, and what a way to do it. She took advantage of Williams' so-so serving and stayed steady throughout -- finishing with 12 unforced errors to Williams' 25 -- despite the bizarre events that unfolded in the second set.
Indeed, the biggest victory of Stosur's career so far likely will be recalled by everyone else for Williams' latest dispute with an official at Flushing Meadows.
Down a set and facing a break point in the first game of the second, the 13-time major champion hit a forehand and shouted, "Come on!" as Stosur reached down for a backhand.
Chair umpire Eva Asderaki ruled that Williams hindered Stosur's ability to complete the point and awarded it to Stosur -- putting her ahead 1-0 in that set.
Williams went over to talk to Asderaki, saying, "I'm not giving her that game."
Williams also said: "I promise you, that's not cool. That's totally not cool."
Some fans began booing, delaying the start of the next game as both players waited for the commotion to subside.
Tournament director Brian Earley said Asderaki's ruling was proper, according to U.S. Tennis Association spokesman Chris Widmaier.
In the heat of the moment, Williams had trouble putting the whole episode behind her.
During the changeover two games later, Williams continued to talk to Asderaki, saying, "You're out of control. … You're a hater, and you're just unattractive inside."
Williams also told the official: "Really, don't even look at me."
At her news conference, Williams rolled her eyes while deflecting a question about whether she regretted what she said to Asderaki.
"I don't even remember what I said. It was just so intense out there. … I guess I'll see it on YouTube," Williams said.
When Stosur wrapped up the match with a forehand winner, Williams refused the customary postmatch handshake with the chair umpire.
"I hit a winner, but I guess it didn't count," Williams said during the trophy presentation. "It wouldn't have mattered in the end. Sam played really well."