Breaking News Bar
updated: 8/18/2011 6:11 PM

Goler, Abbott claim NPF honors for Bandits

Success - Article sent! close
  • Alisa Goler of the Bandits earned Rookie of the Year honors in the NPF.

    Alisa Goler of the Bandits earned Rookie of the Year honors in the NPF.
    Photo courtesy of Dina Kwit/Chicago Bandits

Daily Herald News Services

SULPHUR, La. -- Bandits rookie third baseman Alisa Goler captured the NPF Rookie of the Year award, making it the fourth consecutive season a Bandits rookie has claimed the honor.

In addition, Bandits ace Monica Abbott claimed a share of the 2011 Pitcher of the Year award, splitting the honors with Florida Pride pitcher Cat Osterman.

Goler finished the 2011 regular season as the National Pro Fastpitch league leader in home runs (11), second in RBIs (29) and fourth in batting average (.327). Spending time at both third and first base, she finished the season with just two errors.

Abbott started 11 games this season with nine of them going complete for a total of 96.0 innings pitched. Her 0.80 ERA is the lowest among NPF pitchers and she trails Osterman in strikeouts 156 to 140 and in wins 14 to 12. Osterman finished the season with a 0.94 ERA.

All-NPF Team

C -- Samantha Marder (Akron Racers)

1B -- Nicole Trimboli (Racers)

2B -- Ashley Charters (USSSA Florida Pride)

3B -- Andrea Duran (Pride)

SS -- Natasha Watley (Pride)

OF -- Megan Wiggins (Chicago Bandits)

OF -- Jessica Mendoza (Pride)

OF -- Alyssa Haber (Pride)

P -- Monica Abbott (Bandits)

P -- Cat Osterman (Pride)

P -- Kristina Thorson (Racers)

P -- Danielle Lawrie (Pride)

At-large nominees: Danielle Zymkowitz (Bandits), Shannon Doepking (Bandits), Brittany McKinney (Diamonds), Charlotte Morgan (Pride), Bianca Mejia (Diamonds)

Award winners

Louisville Slugger Offensive Player of Year: Natasha Watley (Pride)

Wilson Defensive Player of Year: Bianca Mejia (Diamonds)

Diamond Spikes Award by Ringor for Most Stolen Bases: Natasha Watley (Pride)

Worth Home Run Champion: Alisa Goler (Bandits)

Miken Rookie of Year: Goler (Bandits)

Diamond Pitcher of Year: Abbott (Bandits) and Osterman (Pride)

Mizuno Player of Year: Jessica Mendoza (Pride)

Diamond Coaching Staff of Year: Pride

Ringor Regular Season Champions: Florida Pride

Jennie Finch Award: Jessica Mendoza