Breaking News Bar
updated: 8/12/2011 5:03 PM

3 Rush players named to All-Arena teams

Success - Article sent! close
Daily Herald News Services

Three Chicago Rush players earned All-Arena honors for their performance throughout the 2011 Arena Football League season.

Defensive back Vic Hall and linebacker Kelvin Morris collected first-team All-Arena honors while wide receiver Reggie Gray was named second-team All-Arena.

"Not only did these three guys play an important role in the success of the team, but they also made an incredible impact in the locker room." said Rush head coach Bob McMillen. "They were truly team leaders."

Despite a season shortened by injury, Hall set several league and franchise records in his rookie campaign out of University of Virginia. In Week 13 Hall recorded 3 interceptions against the Kansas City Command and broke the AFL'S single-season record for interceptions with 15. He also broke the Rush franchise record with 109 tackles in a single-season.

Morris played in all 20 games throughout the regular and post-season. He recorded 64 regular season tackles and tallied 9 interceptions.

As a rookie, Gray set Rush franchise records with 1,969 receiving yards, 53 all-purpose touchdowns and 130 receptions in a single-season. He ranked third in the AFL in scoring with 322 points and his average of 109.4 yards per game ranks sixth in the league.

Below are the 2011 First and Second All-Arena Team selections:

First Team All-Arena

Aaron Garcia (QB) Jacksonville

Derrick Ross (FB) Dallas

Tiger Jones (WR) Dallas

Rod Windsor (WR) Arizona

Jesse Schmidt (WR) Iowa

Randy Degg (C) Jacksonville

Richard Ranglin (OL) Kansas City

Adam Tadisch (OL) Cleveland

Tim McGill (DL) Tampa Bay

Antajj Hawthorne (DL) Arizona

Caesar Rayford (DL) Utah

Cliff Dukes (MLB) Tampa Bay

Kelvin Morris (JLB) Chicago

Vic Hall (DB) Chicago

Rayshaun Kizer (DB) Orlando

Micheaux Robinson (DB) Jacksonville

Carlos Martinez (K) Georgia

PJ Berry (ST) New Orleans

Second Team All-Arena

Player Pos. Team

Nick Davila (QB) Arizona Rattlers

Chad Cook (FB) San Jose SaberCats

Maurice Purify (WR) Georgia Force

Donovan Morgan (WR) Philadelphia

Reggie Gray (WR) Rush

Brennan Carvalho (C) Arizona

Mark Lewis (OL) San Jose

Devin Clark (OL) Arizona

Dusty Bear (DL) Dallas

Derrick Summers (DL) Jacksonville

Mike Lewis (DL) Utah

Tim Cheatwood (MLB) Cleveland

Marlon Moye-Moore (JLB) Orlando

Andre Jones (DB) Milwaukee

Virgil Gray (DB) Arizona

JC Neal (DB) Tulsa

Fabrizio Scaccia (K) Arizona

Virgil Gray (ST) Arizona