Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/5/2011 11:29 PM

Incumbents Irvin, Schuler, Peters, Saville win re-election in Aurora

Success - Article sent! close
  • Mike Saville

    Mike Saville

  • Abby Schuler

    Abby Schuler

  • Richard Irvin

    Richard Irvin


Aurora voters chose Tuesday to keep their city council exactly the same, re-electing incumbents to six aldermanic seats.

In the most hotly contested of the races -- the battle for an at-large aldermanic post -- incumbent Alderman-At-Large Richard Irvin prevailed with 3,439 votes to defeat challengers Kevin Mathews with 2,048 votes and Judd Lofchie with 1,361. Write-in candidate Matt Harrington could not have more than 386 votes.

"I think (voters are) saying that they have appreciated what I've done over the past four years and want to give me a chance to do even better work in the next four years," Irvin said Tuesday night.

In Ward 1, Alderman Abby Schuler received 683 votes with all 12 precincts reporting. Write-in candidate Don Duve could not have more than 266 votes.

In Ward 5, Alderman John "Whitey" Peters won re-election with 934 votes, and challenger Dean Myles got 649 with all 13 precincts reporting.

Ward 6 Alderman Mike Saville won re-election with 639 votes, defeating challenger Isaac Count De Money Wilson who got 104.

Two council members -- Ward 3 Alderman Stephanie Kifowit and Ward 8 Alderman Rick Mervine -- won re-election after running unopposed.

Aurora aldermen either will be sworn in at a special meeting May 3 or at a regularly scheduled meeting between April 26 and May 12.