Breaking News Bar
updated: 2/8/2011 11:33 AM

Cubs broadcasting almost all spring training games

hello
Success - Article sent! close
  • Cubs fans will be able to watch or listen to nearly every spring training game this season as the Cubs and manager Mike Quade begin Cactus League play on Feb. 27.

      Cubs fans will be able to watch or listen to nearly every spring training game this season as the Cubs and manager Mike Quade begin Cactus League play on Feb. 27.
    Associated Press

 
Daily Herald Report

For the first time ever, nearly every Chicago Cubs spring training game will be available to Cubs fans via television, radio or internet radio broadcast.

Cubs officials on Tuesday released the 2011 spring training broadcast schedule, which will feature eight games televised by Cubs broadcast partners (six by WGN and two by Comcast SportsNet), 11 on the Cubs radio network and 19 via internet radio broadcast at cubs.com.

Order Reprint Print Article
 
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

Fans will be able to access the Cubs Webcasts on Cubs.com and MLB.com for free by registering for a log-in account with the website. In total, 32 of the 34 games (not including the intrasquad game) are scheduled to be available to Cubs fans via one or more broadcast mediums.

Cubs TV play-by-play announcer Len Kasper will join Mick Gillispie, radio broadcaster for Chicago's Double-A Tennessee affiliate, for most of the cubs.com internet radio broadcasts. Gillispie is entering his fifth season as the voice of the Tennessee Smokies and last season was named the Southern League Broadcaster of the Year.

The first televised spring game will be Sunday, March 6 when the Cubs host the Los Angeles Dodgers on WGN. Comcast SportsNet's first game will be Sunday, March 20 vs. the San Francisco Giants from HoHoKam Stadium.

Here is the full broadcast schedule, with all games listed as Chicago time (CST) .

• Sunday, Feb. 27: Athletics at Mesa, WGN Radio, 2:05 p.m.

• Monday, Feb. 28: Brewers at Mesa, WGN Radio, 2:05 p.m.

• Tuesday, March 1: Giants at Scottsdale, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Wednesday, March 2: Brewers at Maryvale, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Thursday, March 3: Rangers at Mesa, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Friday, March 4: Royals at Surprise, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.• Saturday, March 5: Padres at Mesa, WGN Radio

• Sunday, March 6: Dodgers (ss) at Mesa, WGN-TV, WGN Radio, 2:05 p.m.; Reds (ss) at Goodyear

• Monday, March 7: Angels at Mesa, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Tuesday, March 8: Rockies at Scottsdale, Cubs.com, 2:10 p.m.

• Wednesday, March 9: Royals at Mesa, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Thursday, March 10: Indians at Mesa, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Friday, March 11: White Sox at Glendale, Cubs.com, 2:05 p.m.

• Saturday, March 12: Reds (ss) at Mesa, WGN Radio; Reds (ss) at Las Vegas, WGN-TV, 3:05 p.m.

• Sunday, March 13: Diamondbacks (ss) at Scottsdale, Cubs.com, 3:10 p.m.; Dodgers (ss) at Las Vegas, WGN-TV

• Monday, March 14: Mariners at Peoria, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Tuesday, March 15: Rockies (ss) at Mesa, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.; Athletics (ss)Phoenix

• Wednesday, March 16: OFF DAY

• Thursday, March 17: Athletics at Phoenix, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Friday, March 18: Reds at Mesa, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Saturday, March 19: Padres at Peoria, WGN-TV, WGN Radio, 3:05 p.m.

• Sunday, March 20; Giants at Mesa, CSN, WGN Radio, 3:05 p.m.

• Monday, March 21: Angels at Tempe, WGN Radio, 3:05 p.m.

• Tuesday, March 22: Dodgers at Glendale, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Wednesday, March 23: Athletics at Mesa, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Thursday, March 24: White Sox at Mesa, CSN, Cubs.com, 4:05 p.m.

• Friday, March 25: Mariners at Mesa, WGN-TV, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Saturday, March 26: Rangers at Surprise, WGN Radio, 3:05 p.m.

• Sunday, March 27: Rockies at Mesa, WGN-TV, WGN Radio, 3:05 p.m.

• Monday, March 28: Indians at Goodyear, Cubs.com, 3:05 p.m.

• Tuesday, March 29: Diamondbacks at Mesa, WGN Radio, 3:05 p.m.

• Wednesday, March 30: Intrasquad Game at Mesa, 1:05 p.m.

Share this page