Fox Valley Beaux Arts names scholarship winners

Submitted by Pat Szpekowski
Updated 6/11/2020 5:16 PM

Fox Valley Beaux Arts, a nonprofit women's club founded in 1984 to foster and support the arts, recently presented eight Elgin area students with college scholarships valuing a total of $8,000.

"Our mission is to offer scholarships to Elgin area seniors majoring or minoring in the arts," said Kathleen Mink, club co-president. "We are proud to continue this tradition and award these amazing and creative students."


The scholarship recipients, who received $1,000 each, are: Annabelle Joy Mique of Elgin High School, Gifted & Talented Academy; Claire Noland, Anthony Perez and Christopher Perez of Elgin Academy; Marteen Mendel-Duckins of Larkin High School, Visual & Performing Arts Academy; Keira Joseph and Alayna Schweitzer of South Elgin High School; and Andrew Valdovinos of Streamwood High School.

The students all intend to pursue the arts in their areas of talent and interest this fall.

Mique, a vocalist, will be attending DePaul University School of Music.

Noland will pursue drama/vocal/drawing/painting at New York University.

Anthony Perez will pursue fashion design at the Savannah College of Art and Design and Christopher Perez will also attend Savannah College of Art and Design for film/graphic arts.

Mendel-Duckins will attend the American University of Paris in drama/vocal.

Joseph's interest is drawing/painting at the Minneapolis School of Art & Design.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Schweitzer will pursue drawing/painting at the Savannah College of Art & Design.

Valdovinos will attend Northern Illinois University School of Art & Design with a concentration in drawing/cartoonist.

"Major support for our scholarship donations is raised through our popular annual fashion show event," said Cheryl Hallquist, club co-president. "Due to the COVID-19 pandemic crisis, this year's fashion show has been canceled. We look forward to bringing it back next year."

Fox Valley Beaux Arts members consist of a wide range of women who are engaged or support the arts and who reside throughout the Fox Valley area.

Members of the club's board of directors include: Cheryl Hallquist and Kathleen Mink, co-presidents; Loretta Heuer, vice president; Susan Carroll Pepa, secretary; Mary McCarthy, treasurer; Florence Ostdick, corresponding secretary; Marge Haefliger and Chris Womac, programs; Rose Engle and Barb McGee, scholarships; Sue Turner, membership; and Kathleen Mink, publicity.

For more information about Fox Valley Beaux Arts, contact Kathleen Mink at


Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.