American Lung Association names chief marketing officer

  • Julia Fitzgerald

    Julia Fitzgerald Courtesy of American Lung Association

  • Jackie Hinaber

    Jackie Hinaber Courtesy of Mount Prospect Public Library

Posted1/30/2019 9:56 AM

• Julia Fitzgerald of Arlington Heights was appointed chief marketing officer at the American Lung Association.

Fitzgerald, who will report to National President and CEO Harold P. Wimmer, is responsible for the direction and leadership of the nationwide organization's marketing, digital engagement, public relations and internal communications across all platforms, and messaging for all organizational initiatives, programs and events.


Fitzgerald joins the American Lung Association with the aim to build upon the organization's 115-year legacy of saving lives. She has more than 20 years of executive and chief marketing officer experience leading marketing, brand strategy and communications at nationally recognizable brands, including Thermos, Sylvan Learning, Sears, Kmart, VTech, Hallmark and Azek.

She has also proven herself a force in the digital arena, serving as chief digital engagement officer at Sears Holding Company and consistently driving digital marketing transformations.

In addition to her professional experience, Fitzgerald was a founding member of the Kansas City Race for The Cure. Fitzgerald guest lectures at Kellogg and other national organizations, and mentors on marketing and leadership.

She earned an MBA from the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, and earned a bachelor's degree in Spanish and a bachelor's degree in international business at Ohio State University.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Fitzgerald will be based out of the American Lung Association's Chicago office.

• Jackie Hinaber was appointed by the Mount Prospect Public Library board of trustees to fill the vacancy left by the resignation of Trustee Dale Barbara Draznin. The term ends in 2021.

Hinaber, who is a former trustee of the library board, having served from 1987-2011, has stayed actively involved with the library, serving on the foundation board and volunteering whenever needed for other activities, even being Mrs. Claus at the Teddy Bear Walk.

Hinaber has also participated on the North Suburban Library System board for many years and the Illinois Library Association Public Policy Committee. The Illinois Library Association awarded her the Trustee of the Year in 2011.

"Jackie is dedicated and passionate about libraries and what they can do for the community and its residents," said Marilyn Genther, executive director of Mount Prospect Public Library.


• Congratulation to the following students who were recently inducted into the District 212 Italian Honor Society: From East Leyden: Citlalli Cervantes, Justyna Czopek, Nico Giuseppe DeBellis, James Mario Dipaola, Sofia Frantisakova, Karolina Nicole Grzegorczyk, Joshua Hanc, Julia Kostadinova, Ellena Catherine Kouchoukos, Paige Elizabeth Kozial, Michelle Lopez, Spencer Messina, Kimberly Nava-Marquez, Korin Anette Ramirez, Roger Clay Sewell and Wiktoria Wasik; from West Leyden: Alan Alaniz, Giselle Rosalie Alvarado, Talisa Colon Vasquez, Elle Engelke, Jasmine Gutierrez, David Mendiola-Mandujano, Marcos Montero, Emily Jasmine Najera, Celeste Ochoa, Kayley Reith and Jasmine Ruiz.

Candidates were selected on the basis of academic excellence and interest in the Italian language and culture.

The Italian Honor Society was founded by the American Association of Teachers of Italian for the students of secondary schools in the United States. Leyden's Galileo Galilei Chapter was established in 2004.

• School District U-46 honored the Reverend Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. through a variety of events and community programs, including food drives and other volunteer projects in schools, an in-depth discussion on one of Dr. King's famous sermons, and by participating in the Dr. King Youth Leadership Conference.

In addition, six U-46 seniors received a Dr. King Scholarship during the City of Elgin's celebrations honoring the civil rights leader.

The Dr. King scholarship recipients include: Jacqueline Zarate, who received a $1,000 scholarship; and Patrick Stephen, who received an $800 scholarship.

Zarate and Stephen both attend Bartlett High School, Zarate plans on attending Elgin Community College, where she will major in business administration, while Stephen plans on attending the Milwaukee School of Engineering, where he will pursue a degree in computer science.

• Submit your 'Neighbors in the News' items to Norrine Twohey at

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.