Kane County 4-H Foundation names 2017 scholarship recipients

Submitted by Kane County 4-H Foundation
Posted8/16/2017 9:20 PM
  • Madde Klinkey

    Madde Klinkey

  • Elena Halverson

    Elena Halverson

  • Emily Studt

    Emily Studt

  • Erica Johnson

    Erica Johnson

  • Rebecca Dunteman

    Rebecca Dunteman

The Kane County 4-H Foundation recently provided a total of $4,000 in scholarship funds to five Kane County youth, all who were acknowledged at the Blue Ribbon Sale on Saturday, July 22.

Scholarship recipients were selected based on: 4-H Youth Development program involvement, 4-H achievements, community service, school involvement and future plans. High school seniors and post-high school students enrolled full-time in an educational program were encouraged to apply.

• Elena Halverson receives a $500 scholarship, made possible by Woodman's Markets. Elena, a 10-year 4-H'er, is a member of Lincoln Highway 4-H Club. A graduate of Hinckley-Big Rock High School, she will be attending Kishwaukee College in Malta, Ill. Elena plans to study diesel technology and hopes to pursue a career in mechanics. Her parents are Don and Kim Halverson of DeKalb.

• Erica Johnson receives a $500 Bob Konen Memorial Scholarship. Erica, a five-year 4-H'er, is a member of Kaneville Classics 4-H Club. This fall, she will be attending Waubonsee Community College in Sugar Grove where she will study graphic arts and design. She hopes to pursue a career animation. Her parents are Eric and Brenda Johnson in Maple Park.

• Madde Klinkey receives a $1,000 scholarship from 4-H Foundation. Madde, a 9-year 4-H'er, is a member of A Bit More 4-H Club. This fall, Madde will be attending William Woods University in Fulton, Missouri, pursuing a degree in equine administration. Her parents are Rob and Sandy Klinkey of St. Charles.

• Emily Studt receives a $1,000 scholarship from 4-H Foundation. Emily, an 11-year member of 4-H, is graduating from the UnFOURgettables 4-H Club. She attends St. Ambrose University in Davenport, Iowa, and is working toward her goal of a doctoral degree in physical therapy. She is the daughter of Christine Studt of Elgin.

• Rebecca Dunteman receives a $1,000 scholarship from 4-H Foundation. Rebecca, a 10-year member of 4-H, is part of the Big Rock Cowhands 4-H Club. This fall, Emma will attend Western Illinois University in Macomb, Ill., and plans to study education. Her parents are Bill and Kari Dunteman of Big Rock.

All monies for these scholarships are made available through fundraising efforts and private donations to the Kane County 4-H Foundation. The Bob Konen Memorial Scholarship was first available in 2010 and is made possible through memorial donations from family and friends. Konen was a 50‑year 4-H supporter serving as a member, club leader, and a volunteer.

Donations and monies raised by the Kane County 4-H Foundation support many countywide events and activities including volunteer support, training, and recognition; 4-H Government Day; fair activities and fair awards; clean barn awards; educational scholarships; and general 4-H and University of Illinois Extension office support.

4-H is a community of young people across America learning leadership, citizenship, and life skills. If you are interested in learning more about 4-H, contact University of Illinois Extension in your county, or visit go.illinois.edu/extensiondkk.

Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.