Early contenders file in several Kane County school board races

Updated 12/11/2018 5:48 PM
Jeanette Ward's hometown has been corrected in this story.

Kane County will have several contentious school board races this spring.

Leading the field of candidates who submitted petitions on the first day of filing Monday are seven hopefuls for four 4-year terms on the Elgin Area School District U-46 board.


Candidates are incumbent school board member Jeanette Ward of West Chicago, who is running for a second term, John Devereux of Bartlett, who was appointed to the board in June, Eva Porter, Daniel Hancock, Tina Rio, Kathleen Thommes of Elgin, and Ina Silva-Sobolewski.

Terms are up for board members Sue Kerr and Phil Costello, both of Bartlett. Costello earlier announced he would not seek re-election.

In Algonquin-based Community Unit District 300, incumbents Stephen Fiorentino of Algonquin, and Joe Stevens of Pingree Grove, and Leslie LaMarca of Pingree Grove, and Nancy Zettler of Algonquin have filed for four seats. Board members whose terms expire in April include Susie Kopacz of Hampshire and Kym Garcia of West Dundee.

Four candidates have filed for three 4-year terms on the St. Charles Unit District 303 school board. Incumbent Kathleen Hewell filed to serve another term.

Newcomers Jillian Barker, Rebecca McCabe, and Garrett Seaman also are seeking seats. Terms for board members Nick Manheim, serving his second term, and Lori Linkimer, serving her third term, expire in April.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

The Geneva school board will have new members in the spring, because at least two incumbents are not seeking re-election.

Mary Stith and Kelly Nowak confirmed Monday they are not running. Stith has been a trustee since 2003, and served several years as board president. Nowak joined the board in 2007.

Three 4-year terms are available. Jessica Breugelmans is the only one who filed Monday.

In Batavia Unit District 101, where three seats are available, incumbent Chris Lowe filed for re-election. Also vying are Scott Naylor, Erin Meitzler, Christopher John Solfa and David Niekamp.

Incumbent Melody Saperston of North Aurora, who was appointed to the West Aurora District 129 school board this year, is running for a full 4-year term, as is Joe Grisson of Aurora. Four, 4-year terms will be on the ballot.

In Burlington-based Central Unit District 301, incumbents Eric Nolan, Laura Rabe and Mitchell Penar, all of Elgin, are running for reelection with four 4-year seats up.


Alex Arroyo, an incumbent, is running for the East Aurora District 131 board. Candidates will be running for four 4-year terms.

Megan Junk of Sugar Grove, who was appointed to the Kaneland Unit District 302 school board this year, filed a petition for a full 4-year term. Kaneland has four 4-year terms up.

Filing ends Monday, Dec. 17. The election is April 2.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.