Many Fox Valley school, college board races heavily contested

Updated 12/21/2016 9:09 PM

There will be plenty of competition for school and college boards in Kane and McHenry counties April 4. Here is a breakdown of candidates in the consolidated election:

Batavia Unit District 101


Six Batavia residents are running for four 4-year terms, including incumbents Jonathan Gaspar, Tina Bleakley and Susan Locke, and challengers William McGrail III, Robert Baty-Barr, and Joseph Bertalmio. Board member Jason Stoops is running for mayor.

Burlington Central School District 301

Two incumbents -- Duane Schmitt of Hampshire (Burlington Township) and Jeff Kellenberger of Plato Township -- and five challengers -- Tina Johnson and Michelle Schmidt, both of Elgin (Elgin Township), and Neile Litton, Christina Johnson, and Maria Crawford, all of Plato Township -- are vying for three 4-year terms. Board member Maggie Perry is not seeking re-election. The board can have just three members from one township and currently has two members from Elgin.

Cary Unit District 26

Incumbents Julie Jette and Robert Bridge, both of Cary, are seeking re-election to 4-year terms. Board members Josh Howell and Jennifer Crick are not seeking re-election.

Community Unit District 300

The race pits incumbents Anne Miller and Kathleen Burley, both of Algonquin (Algonquin Township), against challengers David Scarpino of Hampshire (Dundee Township), Leslie LaMarca of Pingree Grove (Rutland Township), Nicole Beyer of Algonquin (Algonquin Township), and Mary McNicholas of West Dundee (Dundee Township) vying for three 4-year terms. Board member Dave Alessio of Algonquin (Dundee Township) is not seeking re-election.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Crystal Lake Elementary District 47

Incumbents Betsy Les and Eileen Palsgrove, both of Crystal Lake, seek 4-year terms. Board President Jeff Mason and board member Donna Ricci are not seeking re-election. There are no additional candidates for those seats.

Crystal Lake High School District 155

Two incumbents, Dave Secrest of Crystal Lake and Ann Somers of Trout Valley, and challengers Ron Ludwig, Jason Blake, John Pletz, Donna Kurtz, Raphael Kamner, and Scott Vetter, all of Crystal Lake, and Nicole Pavoris of Cary are vying for four 4-year terms. Board President Ted Wagner and Vice President Gary Oberg are not seeking re-election.

Elgin Area School District U-46

Six candidates are vying for three 4-year terms. They include incumbents Veronica Noland and Cody Holt, both of Elgin, and Donna Smith of Hanover Park, and challengers Melissa Owens and Tracy Smodilla, both of Bartlett, and Enoch Essendrop of Elgin.

Fox River Grove School District 3

Incumbents Laura Byrd, Stephen Pickering and Sara Brubacher and newcomer Kristine Hester are seeking 4-year terms.

Geneva Unit District 304

Incumbents Mark Grosso, Leslie Juby, David Lamb and Bill Wilson and challenger Taylor Egan are vying for four 4-year terms.


Huntley Community School District 158

Incumbents Donald Drzal and Paul Troy, both of Lake in the Hills, and Michael Fleck of Huntley are running for four 4-year terms, as is Lesli Melendy of Huntley. Board member Kimberly Skaja is not running for re-election.

Kaneland Unit District 302

Incumbents Shana Sparber of Maple Park (Kaneville Township) and Pedro Rivas of Sugar Grove (Blackberry Township), and newcomers Aaron Lawler of Montgomery and Noah Little of Sugar Grove (both of Sugar Grove Township) are running for three 4-year terms. Only one of the Sugar Grove Township residents could serve, if elected, because there already are two Sugar Grove Township residents on the board -- Peter Lopatin and Teresa Graue Witt. The board cannot have more than three trustees from any township.

McHenry High School District 156

Incumbents Timothy Hying, Gary Kinshofer, and Michael Lovitsch, all of McHenry, and Ronald Fischer of Lakemoor, are being challenged by Pat Arnold, Arne Waltmire, and Giuseppe Veneziano, all of McHenry, for four 4-year terms.

St. Charles School District 303

Incumbents James Gaffney and Edward McNally are facing challengers Carolyn Waibel, Denton Morris, Lara Kristofer, Eric Missil and Heidi Fairgrieve for four 4-year terms. Board member Corinne Pierog, whose term is up in April, is running for the Elgin Community College board. Board member Steven Spurling is not seeking re-election.

West Aurora Unit District 129

Incumbent Valerie Brown Dykstra of North Aurora and newcomers Christopher Sparks and Rich Kerns II, both of North Aurora, and Joseph Grisson III of Aurora are running for three 4-year terms. Board members Neal Ormond -- appointed to the board in 1995 and elected thereafter -- and Robert Patterson are not seeking re-election.

Elgin Community College

Incumbent John Duffy of Elgin and challengers Jennifer Rakow of St. Charles, Candace McCreary of Streamwood, Roger Maxwell Ramey of Bartlett, Corinne Pierog of St. Charles, and Arun Goyal and Shane Nowak, both of Elgin, are running for three 6-year terms. Eleanor MacKinney and Art Sauceda are not seeking re-election.

McHenry County College

Incumbent Linda Liddell of Crystal Lake will be joined on the ballot by former trustees George Lowe of Cary and Scott Summers of Harvard, and newcomers Diane Evertsen of Harvard, David Schenk of Marengo and Thomas Allen of Lakewood vying for two open six-year term seats. Board member Cynthia Kisser is not seeking re-election.

Waubonsee Community College

Incumbents Jimmie Delgado of Oswego and James Michels of Elburn and newcomer Roger Harris of Geneva are running for three 6-year terms on the board. Board member Karen Cotter is not seeking re-election.

• Daily Herald staff writers Susan Sarkauskas, Lauren Rohr and James Fuller contributed to this story.

Article Comments
Attention: We are experiencing technical difficulties with our Facebook Comments module at this time. Comments will remain disabled until we are able to resolve the problem. We apologize for the interruption. We invite you to engage with our content and talk with other commenters on our Daily Herald Facebook page at Thank you.