Ray LaHood, NPR host among Order of Lincoln award winners

Updated 2/12/2016 4:45 PM

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. -- A former U.S. transportation secretary, the founder of a breast cancer charity and an NPR host are recipients of this year's Order of Lincoln Awards.

Illinois Gov. Bruce Rauner on Friday announced the six people receiving the state's highest honor this year for professional achievement and public service. This year's winners include Susan G. Komen for the Cure founder Nancy Goodman Brinker, former U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood and CME Group chairman emeritus Leo Melamed.


Other recipients include NPR "Weekend Edition Saturday" host Scott Simon, Illinois Poet Laureate Kevin Stein and retired Caterpillar president Robert Gilmore.

The awards will be presented May 7 in Peoria.


This story has been corrected to ... APNewsNow. Corrects third paragraph to "Weekend Edition Saturday" not "Weekend Edition Sunday."

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.