National honors for Daily Herald's Miles, Hawks' Wiedeman

  • Bruce Miles

    Bruce Miles

  • John Wiedeman

    John Wiedeman

Daily Herald Report
Updated 1/9/2014 8:07 PM

Marv Albert and Rick Reilly were elected to the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame, and two sports veterans from Illinois -- Bruce Miles of the Daily Herald and John Wiedeman of the Chicago Blackhawks -- also earned top honors in Illinois from the NSSA for their work.

Miles, a Loyola University Chicago grad who has spent 25 years covering sports for the Daily Herald, has been the Cubs beat writer since 1998 and has won several Lisagor Awards and other writing honors in his tenure. He also was honored in 2013 with the Bill Gleason Sportswriter of the Year Award by the Pitch & Hit Club of Chicago. Wiedeman is in his eighth season as the radio play-by-play voice of Blackhawks hockey on WGN Radio AM-720, calling two Stanley Cup championship wins during his tenure.


"Bruce is a consummate professional with high standards," said Daily Herald Sports Editor Tom Quinlan. "It's gratifying to know that others see what we see every day -- a passionate reporter and talented writer who loves sports."

Albert, a longtime network announcer, and Reilly, who worked at Sports Illustrated before moving to ESPN, will be honored at the 55th Annual NSSA Awards weekend, June 7-9, in Salisbury, NC.

NBC's Mike 'Doc' Emrick was elected 2013 National Sportscaster of the Year and Sports Illustrated's Peter King won his third National Sportswriter of the Year Award in the last four years, executive director Dave Goren announced Thursday.

Article Comments
Attention: We are experiencing technical difficulties with our Facebook Comments module at this time. Comments will remain disabled until we are able to resolve the problem. We apologize for the interruption. We invite you to engage with our content and talk with other commenters on our Daily Herald Facebook page at Thank you.