Breaking News Bar
updated: 8/29/2013 5:07 PM

16-inch softball tourney coming to Mt. Prospect

Success - Article sent! close

Majewski Park in Mount Prospect will be the site for the Amateur Softball Association's 50th Major Men's 16-inch National Championship softball tournament Sept. 6-8.

The tournament will feature 24 teams from around the country, including OBI of Forest Park, which will try to become just the seventh team to win back-to-back national championships.

"It should be a fun weekend," said Chicago Metro ASA commissioner Tom O'Neill, who considers Mount Prospect "the hotbed of slow pitch softball in the Chicago area."

In addition to the double elimination tournament, ASA will honor the top 22 players in 16-inch men's major slow pitch history, as well as the top five teams.

The top 22 players, as voted on by the ASA 16-inch committee as well as a committee from the Chicago 16-inch Softball Hall of Fame, are Ed Zolna, John Kelleher, Ron Olesiak, Jake Jacobi, Willie Simpson, Mike Tallo, Bill Berekis, Keith Filkins, Wally Filkins, Frank Lentine, Al Czech, Willie Johnson, Larry Kelly, Jack Kelly, Randy "Stretch" Lee, Billy Massucci, Randy Russ, Rick Gancarz, Frank Mustari, Mark Holstein, Eddie Surma and Israel Sanchez.

The top five teams to be honored are the Bobcats, the Whips, Miller 45's, Lettuce, and Sobies.

The ceremony will take place at 2 p.m. Sept. 8 at Majewski Park.

O'Neill, who has been Chicago Metro ASA commissioner for 27 years, said there are currently more than 100 slow pitch tournament teams in the Chicago area, and more than 1,000 teams playing slow pitch softball.

For further information, go to or email

Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.
    Winner - 2015 Best Website
    Illinois Press Association
    Illinois Press Association