New COD Board Seated, Officers Elected

COD News Bureau
Updated 5/10/2013 11:41 AM

The College of DuPage Board of Trustees bid farewell to outgoing Board Chairman David Carlin at an organizational board meeting Tuesday, May 7. During this special meeting, the Board also welcomed new Trustee Kathy Hamilton and congratulated returning Trustee Joseph Wozniak to his second six-year term.

Following a resolution thanking Chairman Carlin for his six years of service, including two years as Chairman, two years as Vice Chairman and one year as Secretary, College of DuPage President Dr. Robert L. Breuder presented the Naperville resident with the College's Presidential Leadership Medal. Carlin is only the third person in COD's history to receive this honor, which also includes State Senator Kirk Dillard and former State Senator John Millner who received the award two years ago.

"In my more than 30 years as a community college president, I have yet to witness another person as dedicated and passionate about serving the common good, which in this instance means the College, its students and District 502 community members," Dr. Breuder said. "David Carlin's dedication to this institution is unparalleled. Throughout his tenure, he has remained a humble servant for this institution, always saying 'yes' to any duty put before him and keeping in mind the betterment of students in all of his decisions. It is for this reason that we have chosen David to receive this award. Through this honor, we hope he truly appreciates the enormous value and esteem we have for his service to College of DuPage over the last six years."

Preceding the Board of Trustees regular meeting, Kathy Hamilton of Hinsdale was sworn in as a new Trustee and Joe Wozniak of Naperville took his oath of office to serve his second term on the Board.

The Board then elected Trustee Erin Birt of Wheaton as Chairman, Trustee Kathy Hamilton as Vice Chairman and Allison O'Donnell of Winfield as board secretary, who will serve through May 2014 in these positions.

Newly elected Board Chairman Birt then presented Carlin with a plaque containing a resolution of appreciation.

The next regular Board of Trustees meeting is scheduled for Thursday, May 16, at 7 p.m. in the Student Services Center, Room 2200.