Hamilton in, Carlin out, Wozniak stays at COD

  • Kathy Hamilton

    Kathy Hamilton

  • Joseph C. Wozniak

    Joseph C. Wozniak

Updated 4/10/2013 12:37 AM

The College of DuPage Board of Trustees will maintain its current board majority -- although its current board chairman won't be there to oversee it.

Kathy Hamilton, a CPA from Hinsdale, was the top vote-getter Tuesday in a six-way race for two available seats on the board that oversees the largest community college in the state. Hamilton ran on the same slate with current board Chairman Dave Carlin of Naperville, but he finished third in balloting. However, incumbent Trustee Joe Wozniak of Naperville finished second overall and will be returning to the board.


It's a board that's garnered headlines over the past two years for its intergovernmental quarrel with Glen Ellyn and contract dispute with full-time faculty.

With 808 of 809 precincts reporting, Hamilton finished with 51,577 votes and Wozniak with 32,424 to earn seats on the board. Meanwhile Carlin posted 27,320 votes; Frank Flores Jr., 17,041; Ed Agustin, 16,306; and Mike Lanners, 13,904, according to unofficial results.

Hamilton largely self-funded her campaign, reporting on campaign disclosure documents a $50,000 loan she made to herself, and a $2,051.64 contribution from the Downers Grove Township Republican Organization.

With Hamilton and Wozniak's victories, the seven-member board will maintain its current makeup of having only three trustees who previously ran with union support.

The union originally endorsed Agustin and Flores, a former college employee, but later withdrew its support of Flores when revelations came to light that he had been fired in 2010 after sexual harassment allegations surfaced.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.