Pitch & Hit Club to honor Gossage, La Russa, Miles

  • Rich "Goose" Gossage

    Rich "Goose" Gossage

  • Tony La Russa

    Tony La Russa

  • Bruce Miles

    Bruce Miles

Daily Herald report
Updated 1/21/2013 10:51 AM

Two Major League Baseball legends will be honored at the 67th Pitch & Hit Club's awards banquet this month, along with a bevy of award winners that include Daily Herald baseball writer Bruce Miles and Washington Nationals general manager Mike Rizzo, a native of Chicago.

Hall of Famer Richard "Goose" Gossage and longtime manager Tony La Russa will be among the feature guests for the annual fundraising dinner, which supports several local baseball charities.


Gossage and La Russa will be honored at Lou Boudreau Hall of Fame inductees. Rizzo will receive the Major League Executive of the Year award, and broadcaster Milo Hamilton will be honored with a Lifetime Achievement award.

Miles, who has covered the Cubs for the Daily Herald since 1998 and Major League Baseball since 1989, will receive the Bill Gleason Sportswriter of the Year Award from the Pitch & Hit Club.

"That's an incredible lineup for a baseball banquet, and Bruce is in some great company," said Daily Herald Sports Editor Tom Quinlan. "He has great passion and commitment to covering the beat, and we're honored that others in the baseball industry recognize his talent."

The banquet will take place Sunday at The Carlisle, 425 E. Butterfield Road, Lombard. A reception begins at 4:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 6 p.m. and awards at 6:30 p.m. Tom Shaer will be the emcee, with music throughout the evening by organist Nancy Faust.

by signing up you agree to our terms of service

Tickets ($75 for members, $100 for nonmembers) must be purchased by Wednesday. Tickets will not be available at the door. For tickets, contact Bridget Venturi Veenema at bventuri@aol.com.

Gossage was elected to the National Baseball Hall of Fame in 2008 after 22 seasons pitching for nine different teams, including four seasons with the White Sox and one with the Cubs.

La Russa retired in 2011, finishing third overall in career managerial wins and winning three championships in a remarkable 33-year career with the White Sox, Athletics and Cardinals.

Other award winners to be honored include:

Chicago Area MLB Player of the Year: George Kontos, San Francisco Giants

Minor League Manager of the Year: Mike Pinto, Southern Illinois Miners


Amateur Coach of the Year: Wayne King, Joliet Junior College

Mary Frances Veeck Woman of the Year: Amy Mason, Kane County Cougars

Nick Kamzic Scout of the Year: Terry Sullivan, Boston Red Sox

Paul Dizzy Trout Ambassador Award: Tyrone Brooks, Pittsburgh Pirates

College Player of the Year: Luke Andrade, Joliet Junior College

Bo Jackson Courage Award: James Fuller, Niles North High School

Len DiForte Amateur Baseball Service Award: Bill Slight. Wheaton White Sox

Chicago Area Minor League Player of the Year: Mike Foltynewicz, Astros

Chicago Baseball Museum Jerome Holtzman Award: Paul Dickson

Minor League Executive of the Year: Josh Olerud, Potomac Nationals

Charlie Hum Club Service Award: Dave and Debbie Cook, Hoosier Bat

President's: Rich & Marty Del Boccio

Go to comments: 0 posted

Get articles sent to your inbox.

Article Comments
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the "flag" link in the lower-right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.