Palatine's Hedstrom headed for North Dakota

Updated 1/7/2013 2:00 PM
  • Palatine's Megan Hedstrom is signing up for a future in NCAA Division I softball at North Dakota.

    Palatine's Megan Hedstrom is signing up for a future in NCAA Division I softball at North Dakota. Submitted photo

  • Quarterback Brett Basanez, here throwing a pass during his Northwestern days, is among the recent inductees to St. Viator's Athletics Hall of Fame.

    Quarterback Brett Basanez, here throwing a pass during his Northwestern days, is among the recent inductees to St. Viator's Athletics Hall of Fame. Associated Press

Not too many Mid-Suburban League softball players are also varsity gymnasts in the conference.

But Megan Hedstrom is one of those exceptions.

And she is also an exceptional softball player.

Six months after leading Palatine as a junior with a .407 batting average, 41 RBI and 5 home runs, Hedstrom signed a letter of intent November of 2012 to play NCAA Division I softball for the University of North Dakota.

"Megan was a big part of our offense," said Pirates softball coach Jeff Manz after Hedstrom earned all-area status last spring. "And she pitched pretty well (12 wins) for us against some really good teams."

Hedstrom has been playing softball since the age of 10, competing on travel teams and winning many honors throughout her career.

She played travel softball last summer and won a national championship in Ocean City, Maryland.

Hedstrom currently plays for the Bartlett Silver Hawks and coach Brad Dennison.

"I'm truly grateful for all the training and support I've received over the years with my coaches and especially my parents," Hedstrom said. "All the training and effort has really paid off."

Hedstrom, who plans to study broadcast journalism, is looking forward to making an impact as a freshman at North Dakota.

"In graduating three pitchers, we needed to find pitchers who can come in right away and contribute," said NDU coach Eric Oakley. "Megan is a pitcher who can do that, and do it well.

"She hits her spots well, and will be able to give us important innings as a freshman."

Oakley also likes the rest of Hedstrom's game.

"Beyond that, she's just a good, solid athlete who can adapt and play several positions," Oakley said.

Wheeling Hall of Fame

The Wheeling High School Athletic Hall of Fame will hold festivities on Friday, Jan. 25, to induct its newest members.

Mike Jendreas, Dr. Tom Shirley and Gail Miloch Huster form the 2013 class.

The ceremony will be held at approximately 8:15 p.m. at halftime of the boys basketball game against Buffalo Grove. A Hall of Fame reception will be held in the cafeteria after the game.

St. Viator Hall of Fame

Last Oct 20, St. Viator officials held their 2012 Induction Ceremony for the school's Athletic Hall of Fame.

Here is a look at the newest members.

Brett Basanez: From the Class of 2001, the quarterback was MVP for the 1999 and 2000 football teams.

He was a two-time Catholic Metro all-conference selection and the league's Most Valuable Offensive Co-Player of the Year in 1999 and Player of the Year in 2000.

He set the school record with 5,153 passing yards and 69 touchdowns and played in the National East-West High School All-Star Football Game in 2000.

Basanez was the USA Today Illinois Player of the Year in 2000

Andrea Vavrik Clementi: From the class of 2002, Vavrik was the Lions MVP for the winning team in 2001. She was an IHSA state qualifier in the 200 and 400 free relays.

She was also the Lions' MVP and all-conference selection for girls water polo in 2001 and 2002.

She was named to the IHSA all-sectional team in 2001 and 2002.

Brad Kay: From the Class of 1981, Kay was the MVP, all-conference selection and co-captain for the 1980 boys golf team which won the East Suburban Conference championshp.

He was also an IHSA sectional medalist and placed 17th in the state tourney in 1980 when the Lions were 12th as a team.

Kay won the varsity basketball 'Lion Award' in 1981 and he was the ESCC high jump and long jump champion in 1981 for track and field.

Coach Bill Probst: The Lions boys varsity basketball coach from 1978 to 1987 won 134 games, four Saint Viator Thanksgiving Tournament titles, five Wheeling Hardwood Classic championships and a regional championship in 1987.

Probst, a physical education teacher, was the East Suburban Catholic Conference 'Coach of the Year' in 1982.

Probst also served as the Lions' freshman girls basketball coach from 2000 to 2003 compiling a 70-5 record.

Quin Hayes: From the Class of 1995, Hayes was the MVP of the East Suburban Catholic Conference and for the 1995 Lions varsity boys basketball team.

Hayes led the ESCC in scoring that season and scored a school-record 47 points against Joliet Catholic.

He also had 11 3-point field goals in one game and 103 3-pointers in 1995.

Sean Henning: From the Class of 1983, Henning was the Lions MVP and ESCC all-conference selection for the 1983 basketball team that won the 1982 St. Viator Thanksgiving Tournament championship.

Henning was named to the all-tourney team for the Wheeling Hardwood Classic in 1982 and helped lead the Lions to the crown.

Henning was a special mention all-stater played in the McDonald's all-American Game in 1983.

Pat McGrath: From the class of 1970, McGrath was a Chicagoland Prep League all-conference lineman for the 1969 football team.

He was a Daily Herald all-area selection.

2001-02 Girls soccer team: After three consecutive ESCC Championships and a tough loss in the IHSA Class 2A quarterfinals in double overtime the year before, the 2001-02 varsity girls soccer team won the state crown.

It was the school's first IHSA state championship for a team sport.

Hall of Fame Coach Rory Dames (Class of 1991) guided the team to a 19-4-4 record, winning its last 14 games.

The Lions finished second in the ESCC with a heartbreaking 3-2 loss to Carmel but won the regional and sectional titles playing in Class A for the first time.

The state finals were held at North Central College in Naperville. In an exciting quarterfinal game, St. Viator edged Triad High School from Troy, 1-0. In the Saturday morning semifinal, the Lions blanked Rockford Boylan 4-0 followed by a 5-1 victory over Normal University High in the title match.

Lauren Weber, Natalia Walters, Nicole Meschbach, Heather Crawford and Lauren Moser were named to the all-tournament team.


Winona State junior defensive back Matt Splon (Wheeling) has played in every game since his freshman season.

Also a mainstay on the special teams, he received the 'Special Teams MVP' this fall.

Winona posted a 10-2 record and closed the season by winning the Mineral Water Bowl in Missouri.

Splon is a two time NSIC All- Academic Team selection. He has a 3.71 GPA and is majoring in business administration with a minor in management.


The Arlington Falcons lacrosse club is looking for new players for the 2013 season. The club, which will be fielding both varsity and junior varsity teams, draws most of its players from District 214 high schools but is currently open to all high school boys.

The Falcons are an independent club and will be competing against other high school boys lacrosse clubs throughout the state. An informational meeting will be held Monday, Jan. 14, at the Rolling Meadows Library (3110 Martin Lane) at 7 p.m.

For more information contact Mark Fedor at (847) 401-2461 or visit

• Please email Sports Notes items to or FAX to (847) 427-1173.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.