A long career of accident-free driving led to recognition Tuesday for 11 postal carriers in Aurora.

The U.S. Postal Service and the National Safety Council honored the longtime carriers with the Million Mile Award, which recognizes more than 1 million miles on the job with no reported crashes.

It requires about a 30-year career to reach the million-mile milestone, and at least one of the carriers awarded Tuesday had been on the job a decade longer than that.

Carriers who received the award are Frank Appello, Jeffrey Boedewig, Vincent Castaldo, Lisa Durando, Jose Espinosa, Patrice Kline, Brian Kuhlemeyer, Margaret Parker, Carl Senft, Valdi Viksne and Phyllis Vruno.

The Million Mile Club they joined is part of the Safe Driver Award program created by the National Safety Council and given out since 1930.