Articles filed under Board/Council

Show 21-40 of 1,494 « previous next »
  • Volo’s Burnell Russell, Lindhurst’s Susan Lahr say they won’t seek re-election in April Dec 15, 2014 5:52 PM
    Two incumbent Lake County village presidents said Monday they won’t seek re-election in 2015. Lindenhurst’s Susan Lahr said she won’t run for a third term because she believes in term limits. Burnell Russell, the only village president Volo has had since its incorporation in 1993, said it’s time for a change.

  • Five candidates so far for Arlington Heights board Dec 15, 2014 12:03 PM
    Five candidates have filed so far Monday for four open seats on the Arlington Heights village board, and at least two more are expected.

  • Bogusz shouldn’t try to build dynasty Dec 8, 2014 5:01 AM
    Letter to the editor: Matt Bogusz should stay out of trying to influence the aldermanic elections, advises William McNutt of Des Plaines.

  • Schwantz taps nominee for temporary Palatine council vacancy Nov 25, 2014 1:38 PM
    Palatine Mayor Jim Schwantz said Monday he plans to nominate Matt Trembley to fill the District 3 village council vacancy left by the resignation of Jim Clegg last week. The council will vote on Schwantz’s nominee at the Dec. 1 meeting.

  • Larson uncontested for 8th term as Schaumburg mayor Nov 25, 2014 1:38 PM
    With no opponent having materialized Monday, Schaumburg Mayor Al Larson effectively won his eighth consecutive term in his current office. But it will still take until Election Day, April 7, for him to know the exact makeup of his village board.

  • Candidate filing starts for three northwest Cook County villages Nov 17, 2014 5:30 AM
    Three Northwest suburban villages — Hoffman Estates, Palatine and Schaumburg — begin their weeklong filing period today for candidates wanting to run for a seat on their boards or councils. The villages have the potential for a primary election on Tuesday, Feb. 24. Primary races would be triggered if the number of candidates who file for a particular office exceeds four times the number of seats available.

  • State Rep.’s son to run for Arlington Hts. village board Oct 2, 2014 11:38 AM
    D. Court Harris, a two-time Afghanistan veteran and the son of state Rep. David Harris, will run for a seat on the Arlington Heights village board in April, he said Thursday. Harris, 29, is the sixth announced candidate for four open seats on the board.

  • Island Lake trustee resigns Aug 15, 2014 2:27 PM
    Island Lake Trustee Shannon Fox has resigned from the board, citing a recent move out of town.

  • After 8-year absence, Charles Amrich mayor again in Island Lake May 9, 2013 11:07 PM
    Charles Amrich, Island Lake's elected leader from 1985 to 2005, was sworn in Thursday at village hall, along with four of his political allies. "It feels good," Amrich told the Daily Herald moments after taking the oath from McHenry County Judge Michael Feetterer in a boardroom filled with supporters. "It feels like it did a long time ago."

  • Bartlett’s new village president, new trustees sworn in May 8, 2013 12:01 AM
    Four new Bartlett village board members were greeted with loud rounds of applause from more than 80 residents who came to witness their swearing-in ceremony Tuesday. Kevin Wallace was sworn in as village president, replacing Michael Airdo, who had held the position since late 2011. Vince Carbonaro, Michael Camerer and Aaron Reinke were sworn in as the new village trustees and Village Clerk Lorna Giless began her second term in the position.

  • New officials in Wauconda May 5, 2013 6:12 PM
    Wauconda Mayor-elect Frank Bart will take the oath of office and begin his 4-year term at Tuesday’s board meeting.

  • Election fights cost Island Lake taxpayers $44,125 May 6, 2013 5:33 AM
    Two activists' lengthy and ultimately fruitless attempts to knock Island Lake Mayor-elect Charles Amrich and Trustee-elect Tony Sciarrone off last month's ballot cost the village nearly $44,125 in legal fees, records show. The petition challenge process dragged on for three months and included two trips to Lake County circuit court.

  • Frank Bart takes over as Wauconda’s new mayor May 7, 2013 8:58 PM
    The Frank Bart era has begun in Wauconda. Bart, who defeated incumbent Mayor Mark Knigge by a mere 33 votes last month, took the oath of office during Tuesday night's village board meeting.

  • Coin flip decides board race in Stickney May 1, 2013 4:03 PM
    Two candidates for Stickney's board of trustees garnered exactly 573 votes in last month's election. So on Wednesday, Cook County Clerk David Orr flipped a quarter to break the tie.

  • New Barrington trustees ready for their close-up May 1, 2013 5:25 AM
    After running uncontested races that gave them little opportunity to air their positions in public, Barrington Trustees-elect Pete Douglas and Sue Padula spoke with the Daily Herald on Tuesday about what motivated them to run for office and what they see as the critical decisions of the next four years.

  • Rosenberg retains seat in Arlington Hts. by 20 votes Apr 30, 2013 5:47 PM
    Trustee Bert Rosenberg has been re-elected to the Arlington Heights village board, beating Trustee Norm Breyer by 20 votes, according to official results certified Tuesday by the Cook County clerk's office. "I am disappointed with the results," said Breyer Tuesday, who said he'll decide in the next few days whether to ask for a recount. "I suppose it means they only love (Rosenberg) a drop more than me."

  • Island Lake trustee-elect denies making threats Apr 28, 2013 6:47 AM
    In the months after he was removed as Island Lake's interim police chief in 2010, Anthony Sciarrone was accused by three officers of earlier threatening violence against them or village officials, department records reveal. Now a trustee-elect who's set to take office May 9, Sciarrone downplayed the allegations in a conversation with the Daily Herald, saying the comments attributed to him were made without any intent to harm.

  • Wally Frasier outspent rivals in Mundelein’s mayoral race, financial reports show Apr 18, 2013 3:47 PM
    Mundelein mayoral candidate Wall Frasier vastly outraised his opponents in last week's race, state financial records show, but he still finished second.

  • Amrich’s team raised nearly $17,000 before big wins in Island Lake, records show Apr 12, 2013 3:32 PM
    Charles Amrich's successful campaign for mayor in Island Lake was well funded by supporters, newly released state disclosure records show. Amrich's slate collected nearly $17,000 in cash donations during the first quarter of 2013, nearly four times what incumbent Debbie Herrman's team reportedly raised.

  • Downtown, finances on to-do list for new mayor, trustees in Lake Zurich Apr 10, 2013 5:40 PM
    Finances and downtown redevelopment are expected to top the agenda for Lake Zurich village president-elect Tom Poynton and trustees when they officially take over next month. Fresh off his election night victory, Poynton said he plans to urge village officials to redefine strategies for the long-stalled downtown redevelopment. “People want more action,” he said. “They’re tired of inaction.”

Show 21-40 of 1,494 « previous next »
Latest Video


Most Commented
Top Jobs

    View all Top Jobs Place a job ad



    • Daily Herald eEdition Zillow /real estate page
    • Dh innovation award 2 - Dh innovation award 2 Report card checker - report card checker
    • On Guard series Newspaper archives -- Monday or anyday
    • National Newspaper Week - National Newspaper Week



    Connect with a business or service in your area fast. First select a town, then enter a search term or choose one of the listed popular searches:

    Don't see your town listed? Visit our full directory to begin your search.