Breaking News Bar
updated: 3/16/2017 12:24 PM

'Saturday Night Live' to air live to all, not taped for some

hello
Success - Article sent! close
  • In this March 4, 2017 photo provided by NBC, Colin Jost and Michael Che, right, appear during Weekend Update segment of "Saturday Night Live" in New York. "Saturday Night Live" will broadcast live simultaneously across the U.S. for its final four shows of the season, NBC announced Thursday, March 16. Until now, viewers in the Mountain and Pacific time zones have seen the show not as it aired “live from New York,” but on tape delay. The new live-for-all policy will apply to episodes telecast April 15, May 6, 13 and 20. (Will Heath/NBC via AP)

    In this March 4, 2017 photo provided by NBC, Colin Jost and Michael Che, right, appear during Weekend Update segment of "Saturday Night Live" in New York. "Saturday Night Live" will broadcast live simultaneously across the U.S. for its final four shows of the season, NBC announced Thursday, March 16. Until now, viewers in the Mountain and Pacific time zones have seen the show not as it aired “live from New York,” but on tape delay. The new live-for-all policy will apply to episodes telecast April 15, May 6, 13 and 20. (Will Heath/NBC via AP)
    Associated Press

 
 

NEW YORK -- After 42 seasons, "Saturday Night Live" is trying something new: airing live to everybody.

For the first time, "SNL" will broadcast live simultaneously across the U.S. for its final four shows of the season, NBC announced Thursday. Until now, viewers in the Mountain and Pacific time zones have seen the show not as it aired "live from New York," but on tape delay.

The new live-for-all policy will apply to episodes telecast April 15, May 6, May 13 and May 20. Each show will air at 11:30 p.m. (Eastern), 10:30 p.m. (Central), 9:30 p.m. (Mountain) and 8:30 p.m. (Pacific). In the Mountain and Pacific time zones, the show will repeat at 11:30 p.m.

Hosts for these editions will be, respectively, Jimmy Fallon, Chris Pine, Melissa McCarthy and, for the season finale, Dwayne Johnson.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.
    Winner - 2015 Best Website
    Illinois Press Association
    Illinois Press Association