Breaking News Bar
posted: 5/6/2014 12:01 PM

James Beard restaurant and chef award winners

Success - Article sent! close
Associated Press

NEW YORK -- The winners of the 2014 James Beard Foundation restaurant and chef awards announced Monday are:

National Chef Awards

• Outstanding Chef

Nancy Silverton of Pizzeria Mozza in Los Angeles

• Outstanding Restaurant

The Slanted Door in San Francisco

• Rising star Chef of the Year

Jimmy Bannos Jr. of The Purple Pig in Chicago


Blaine Wetzel of The Willows Inn on Lummi Island in Lummi Island, Wash.

• Outstanding Restaurateur

Barbara Lynch of Barbara Lynch Gruppo (No. 9 Park, Menton, B&G Oysters, and others) in Boston

• Best New Restaurant

Peche Seafood Grill in New Orleans

• Outstanding Pastry Chef

Dominique Ansel of Dominique Ansel Bakery in New York City

• Outstanding Service

The Restaurant at Meadowood in St. Helena, Calif.

• Outstanding Wine, Beer or Spirits Professional

Garrett Oliver of Brooklyn Brewery in Brooklyn, N.Y.

• Outstanding Wine Program

The Barn at Blackberry Farm in Walland, Tenn.

• Outstanding Bar Program

The Bar at the NoMad Hotel in New York City

Regional Chef Awards

• Great Lakes

Dave Beran of Next in Chicago

• Mid-Atlantic

Vikram Sunderam of Rasika in Washington, D.C.

• Midwest

Justin Aprahamian of Sanford in Milwaukee

• New York City

April Bloomfield of The Spotted Pig

• Northeast

Jamie Bissonnette of Coppa in Boston

• Northwest

Naomi Pomeroy of Beast in Portland, Ore.

• South

Ryan Prewitt of Peche Seafood Grill in New Orleans


Sue Zemanick of Gautreau's in New Orleans

• Southeast

Ashley Christensen of Poole's Downtown Diner in Raleigh, N.C.

• Southwest

Chris Shepherd of Underbelly in Houston

• West

Daniel Patterson of Coi in San Francisco

James Beard Foundation America's Classics

• Hansen's Sno-Bliz in New Orleans

Owner: Ashley Hansen

• Nick's Italian Cafe in McMinnville, Ore.

Owners: Nick Peirano, Carmen Peirano and Eric Ferguson

• Olneyville New York System in Providence, R.I.

Owners: Stephanie Stevens Turini and Greg Stevens

• Perini Ranch Steakhouse in Buffalo Gap, Texas

Owners: Lisa and Tom Perini

• Sokolowski's University Inn in Cleveland

Owners: Bernard Sokolowski, Mary Balbier and Michael Sokolowski

James Beard Foundation Who's Who of Food & Beverage in America Inductees

• Edward Behr, food writer, St. Johnsbury, Ver.

• John Besh, chef and restaurateur, New Orleans

• David Chang, chef and restaurateur, New York City

• Barry Estabrook, writer, Vergennes, Ver.

• Paul Kahan, chef and restaurateur, Chicago

• Sherry Yard, pastry chef and author, Los Angeles

James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award

Sirio Maccioni of Le Cirque in New York City

James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year

Matt Haley, philanthropist and restaurateur, Rehoboth Beach, Del.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.