Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/24/2014 5:05 PM

Prestigious academy adds U of I professors

Success - Article sent! close
Associated Press

CHAMPAIGN, Ill. -- Three University of Illinois professors have been elected to the prestigious American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The university announced Tuesday that dance professor Tere R. O'Connor, materials science and engineering professor John A. Rogers and chemistry professor Wilfred A. van der Donk will be inducted in October.

O'Connor has created work for the Lyon Opera Ballet and the White Oak Dance Project and its artistic director, Mikhail Baryshnikov.

Rogers is a pioneer in the development of flexible, stretchable electronics.

And Van der Donk's work focuses on the discovery and design of new anti-inflammatory agents and antibiotics.

The American Academy is based in Cambridge, Mass. It was founded in 1780.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.