Pack your own favorite picnic lunch and come along on the next Historic Adventure -- sponsored by the Des Plaines History Center -- to the Fox River Valley Trolley Museum in South Elgin.
On Saturday, July 13, participants will meet at the History Center at 9:30 a.m. and car pool to and from the museum. The anticipated return time is 4 p.m.
Adults and children have the opportunity to view various trolleys on the museum grounds and experience a trolley ride with all of the sights and sounds of a genuine old-time electric trolley.
At the "end of the line" station in the Jon Duerr Forest Preserve, participants will share a picnic lunch before boarding the trolley for the return trip to the museum.
Advanced registration is required: $15 adults; $5 children 3 -- 11; children under 2 years of age free. The fee includes transportation reimbursement for those driving to and from the museum, plus the round-trip fare. For additional information or to register, call (847) 391-5399 or stop by the History Center, 781 Pearson St.
The Fox River Line was constructed in 1896. At the turn of the last century, this interurban line was part of the Elgin, Aurora and Southern Traction Co.
It ran about 40 miles along the Fox River from Carpentersville to Yorkville. Four miles of track are preserved along the Fox River connecting the museum station with the Jon Duerr Forest Preserve. The line ceased operations in 1961 and was reopened in 1966 as the Fox River Valley Trolley Museum.