Breaking News Bar
posted: 5/1/2013 3:07 PM

High water sinks IHSA state bass fishing finals

Success - Article sent! close
Daily Herald report

The Illinois High School Association has announced that the 2013 IHSA Bass Fishing state final tournament, scheduled for Friday and Saturday, May 3-4 at Carlyle Lake in Carlyle, has been postponed due to potentially dangerous water levels.

It will be rescheduled downstate Carlyle later this spring.

The IHSA Board of Directors made the decision to postpone the finals based upon discussions with the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers who oversee Carlyle Lake. IHSA staff members also visited the lake on April 28 to assess the situation.

Here are the local teams that have qualified for the state finals:

Jacobs High School, Algonquin: Gary Conro, head coach; Dylan Strejc, Jake Hamilton, Kevin Martinez, team; Jim Virglio, driver.

Barrington High School: John Ardente, head coach; Bret Vogt and Wrigley Marquith, team.

Elk Grove High School: Matt Snow, head coach; Austin Beaupre, Dominic Culbertson and John Hornsberger, team.

York High School, Elmhurst: Ryan Walz, head coach; Domenico Vigilante and Matt Penning, team; Joe Stolz, driver.

Grant Community High School, Fox Lake: Bill Stanton, head coach; James Morrison, Kevin Pawola and Nick Odom, team.

Grayslake North High School: Greg Geiger, head coach; Ryan Kirkpatrick and Trevor Sanderson, team; Jeff Griffen, driver

Hinsdale Central High School: Bob Barber, head coach; Brian Liss and John Flaherty, team; Brent Kujawa, driver

Huntley High School: Brian Thornley, head coach; Garrett Koeppler, Grant Gardner, Mikel Lowry and Ricky Ruclawski, team; Mike Raclawski, driver.

Prospect High School, Mount Prospect: Tim Schaap, head coach; Erich Friedrichs, Kevin Burk, Kyle Mikosz and Tim St. Denis, team.

Naperville North High School: Jeff DiOrio, head coach; Justin Dixon, Lucas Olsen, Matt Regovic and Zach Archbold, team; Derek Olsen, driver.

Notre Dame College Prep, Niles: Mike Paskvan, head coach; David Dickson and Tom Sora, team; Peter Jenkinson, driver.

Niles West High School, Skokie: Mike Campbell, head coach; Matt Burja and Mohammad Qureshi, team; Mike Galanopoulos, driver.

Wheaton-Warrenville South High School: Craig Lawrence, head coach; Chris Bulaw, Qarin Johnnic and Lintaro Kajiwara; Art Tang, driver.

New Trier High School, Winnetka: Steve Gagliano, head coach; Austin Barich, Danny Selzer, Jonah Frueh and Michael Gobeli, team; Randy Zamin, driver.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.