Breaking News Bar
posted: 4/25/2013 12:12 PM

ECC art students are finalists in collegiate contest

Success - Article sent! close

Submitted by ECC

Four Elgin Community College students are part of the final exhibit for the 2013 Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference Juried Art Competition.

The exhibit will be shown through Tuesday, April 30, in the Dickenson Center's Arrowhead Room at Waubonsee Community College's Sugar Grove campus, Route 47 at Waubonsee Drive.

Zach Barner of St. Charles, Matt Brej of Elgin, Matt Mercado of West Dundee, and Peter Staples of Bartlett are among the 22 students from the Skyway Conference's eight member schools that will be part of the final exhibit. The final 22 students were culled from 200 entries.

An artist's reception will be from 1 to 3 p.m. on Saturday, April 27, at Waubonsee. An awards ceremony will be at 2 p.m.

The Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference includes ECC; Moraine Valley Community College, Palos Hills; McHenry County College, Crystal Lake; College of Lake County, Grayslake; Oakton Community College, Des Plaines; Prairie State College, Chicago Heights; Morton College, Cicero; and Waubonsee.

Visit for more information about the ECC Arts Center, including video clips of upcoming artists and events, the Standing Room Only blog, and links to the Arts Center's Twitter and Facebook pages.

Get articles sent to your inbox.