Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/24/2013 8:05 PM

COD Announces 2013 Carter Carroll Excellence in History Award Winners

Success - Article sent! close
COD News Bureau

Chris Dearnley of Naperville is the winner of the 2013 Carter Carroll Excellence in History Award for outstanding work in the field of history writing at College of DuPage.

The recognition, which includes a $250 stipend to the winner, was created to encourage and reward high quality academic writing in the field of history. Honorable mentions went to Kevin Naughton (LaGrange Park), Jake Slinkman (Westmont) and Martin Hayford (Lisle). Click here for photos from the awards dinner honoring this year's winners.

Order Reprint Print Article
Interested in reusing this article?
Custom reprints are a powerful and strategic way to share your article with customers, employees and prospects.
The YGS Group provides digital and printed reprint services for Daily Herald. Complete the form to the right and a reprint consultant will contact you to discuss how you can reuse this article.
Need more information about reprints? Visit our Reprints Section for more details.

Contact information ( * required )

Success - request sent close

The award was created in 1994 by Carter D. Carroll, one of the original faculty members of College of DuPage who taught History for more than two decades. History instructors voluntarily nominate student papers they have received between March 2, 2012, and March 1, 2013, which they feel are of excellent quality and have assigned "A" grades. This year, the committee received a record 23 submissions.

Dearnley, a student in Birgit Noodt's 20th Century World History course, wrote "The Past and Present of the Chinese Communist Party." He plans to transfer to the University of Illinois-Chicago and pursue a bachelor's degree in Business Administration.

Share this page