Breaking News Bar
updated: 4/9/2013 9:49 PM

Change of guard for mayor in Round Lake

Success - Article sent! close
  • Daniel MacGillis

    Daniel MacGillis

  • Henry Frye

    Henry Frye

  • Susan Triphahn

    Susan Triphahn

  • Don Newby

    Don Newby


Leading a full slate of candidates to victory Tuesday, Daniel MacGillis ousted Round Lake Mayor Jim Dietz in a campaign marked by switched allegiances.

With all 10 precincts reporting, unofficial results showed MacGillis beating Dietz in his quest for a second term 639-448 votes. MacGillis, a newcomer to politics, had considered running in 2009 but instead opted to support Dietz that time around.

All the members of MacGillis's Citizens First slate won Tuesday. He ran with incumbent Trustees Donald Newby and Susan Triphahn -- who ran with Dietz in 2009 -- and newcomer Henry Frye Jr., as well as Patricia Blauvelt for clerk.

In the bid for three, 4-year trustee seats, Triphahn was the leading vote-getter with 632 votes, followed by Newby with 617 and Frye with 587, according to unofficial totals.

They defeated Dietz's Community Commitment slate of Michael Blum, who came in fourth with 401 votes, followed by David White with 383 votes and Sonia Sandoval with 382 votes.

For clerk, Blauvelt defeated incumbent Joyce Swieton, 632-447.

Article Comments ()
Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.