Daily Herald - Suburban Chicago's source for news This copy is for personal, non-commercial use. To order presentation-ready copies for distribution you can: 1) Use the "Reprint" button found on the top and bottom of every article, 2) Visit reprints.theygsgroup.com/dailyherald.asp for samples and additional information or 3) Order a reprint of this article now.
Article posted: 3/28/2013 11:24 AM

Glen Ellyn presents annual Community Awards

By Christopher Placek

Thirteen individuals and one nonprofit organization recently were honored with Glen Ellyn Community Awards in recognition of their service to the community, officials said.

The awards have been given out since 1963 to honor those who have provided outstanding contributions to the community, said Mike Formento, co-director of the Glen Ellyn Chamber of Commerce.

Awardees worked on or developed specific projects to benefit the village and improve the quality of life, officials said.

The chamber and Village Fair committee presented the awards at a banquet in March.

The winners are:

Citizen of the Year: Paul Sivak of Precision Payroll and 2012 president of the Glen Ellyn Chamber of Commerce;

Business of the Year: Skuddlebutts Pizza & Catering (owners Steve Adams and Danny Glover);

Not For Profit Organization of the Year: Glen Ellyn Infant Welfare Society;

Senior Citizen of the Year: Jean Jeske of the Glen Ellyn Historical Society and Glen Crest Middle School;

Policemen of the Year: Sgt. Joseph Baki, officers Andrew Downey, David Gill, Joseph Nemchock, John Perkins of the Glen Ellyn Police Department ;

Firefighter of the Year: Lt. Scott Parrish of the Glen Ellyn Volunteer Fire Company;

Educators of the Year: Glenbard West High School Principal Jane Thorsen, Park View Elementary School (District 89) teacher Jessica Langman, Abraham Lincoln Elementary School teacher (District 41) Brian Pindar.

Those eligible for awards must be residents of Glen Ellyn or be part of an organization that is active in Glen Ellyn.

Copyright © 2014 Paddock Publications, Inc. All rights reserved.