Fittest loser
Article posted: 3/2/2013 6:00 AM

Flower shows, festivals showcase spring blooms

Blooming cherry blossoms frame the Jefferson Memorial on the Tidal Basin in Washington. The bloom season is one of a number around the country this spring celebrating flowers in season.

Blooming cherry blossoms frame the Jefferson Memorial on the Tidal Basin in Washington. The bloom season is one of a number around the country this spring celebrating flowers in season.

 

Associated Press

Bud Moe, of Barron, Wis., takes pictures of tulips on display during the annual Pella Tulip Time festival in Pella, Iowa.

Bud Moe, of Barron, Wis., takes pictures of tulips on display during the annual Pella Tulip Time festival in Pella, Iowa.

 

Associated Press

Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, Ga., features azaleas in bloom at Callaway’s Overlook Garden.

Callaway Gardens in Pine Mountain, Ga., features azaleas in bloom at Callaway's Overlook Garden.

 

Courtesy of Callaway Gardens

A topiary specialist works on a Daisy Duck topiary at the Epcot front entrance during the 20th Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival at Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

A topiary specialist works on a Daisy Duck topiary at the Epcot front entrance during the 20th Epcot International Flower & Garden Festival at Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

 

Courtesy of Disney

 1 of 4 
 
text size: AAA
By Associated Press

NEW YORK -- Snow is still in the forecast for some locales, but other places are getting ready for spring. And the season's beauty will be on display with festivals and flower shows around the country, from events showcasing cherry blossoms in Washington, D.C., and Brooklyn, N.Y., to celebrations of dogwoods, camellias and azaleas in the South, to apple blossom and tulip festivals in the Northwest.

Here are some of the best and biggest festivals and flower shows around the U.S. this spring, along with some notable botanical gardens where something is always in bloom.

Advertisement

Events

• Atlanta Dogwood Festival, April 19-21, Piedmont Park, Atlanta, www.dogwood.org/

• Biltmore Blooms Festival of Flowers, March 21-May 31, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, N.C., www.biltmore.com

• Boston Flower & Garden Show, March 13-17, Seaport World Trade Center, Boston, www.bostonflowershow.com/

• Camellia Walks, through March 23, Middleton Place, Charleston, S.C., www.middletonplace.org/

• Celebrate Spring, now through April 30, Callaway Gardens, Pine Mountain, Ga., www.callawaygardens.com/

• Chicago Flower & Garden Show, March 9-17, Navy Pier, Chicago, www.chicagoflower.com

• Daffodil Days, April 6-28, Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum, Bristol, R.I., www.blithewold.org

• Daffodil Festival, April 26-28, Nantucket, Mass., www.nantucketchamber.org

• Dallas Blooms, now through April 7, Dallas Arboretum, www.dallasarboretum.org

• Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival, March 6 to May 19, Walt Disney World, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., disneyworld.disney.go.com/events-tours/epcot/epcot-international-flower-and-garden-festival/

• Festival of Flowers, March 21-24, Bellingrath Gardens, Theodore, Ala. (near Mobile), www.bellingrath.org

• Garden Conservancy's Open Days (more than 300 private gardens in 18 states open to the public on select dates from March to November), www.opendaysprogram.org

• Hatsume Fair, March 23-24, Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens, Delray Beach, Fla., www.morikami.org/

• Garden Club of Virginia's Historic Garden Week, tours at various sites April 20-27, www.VAGardenweek.org

• Lilac Festival, May 10-19, Rochester, N.Y., www.lilacfestival.com/

• National Cherry Blossom Festival, March 20 to April 14, Washington, D.C., www.nationalcherryblossomfestival.org/

• Philadelphia Flower Show, March 2-10, Pennsylvania Convention Center, Philadelphia, www.philaflowershow.com

• Sakura Matsuri Festival, April 27-28, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn, N.Y., www.bbg.org

• San Francisco Flower & Garden Show, March 20-24, San Mateo Event Center, San Mateo, Calif., sfgardenshow.com/

• Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival, April 26 to May 5, Winchester, Va., www.thebloom.com

• Skagit Valley Tulip Festival, April 1-30, Mount Vernon, Wash., www.tulipfestival.org/

• Tulip Time Festival, Holland, Mich, May 4-11, www.holland.org/visitors/tulip-time-festival/

• Tulip Time, May 2-4, Pell, Iowa, www.pellatuliptime.com/tulip-time/

• Washington State Apple Blossom Festival, April 25-May 5, Wenatchee, Wash., www.appleblossom.org/

• Wistaria Festival, March 17, Sierra Madre, Calif., www.sierramadrenews.net/?page_id=259

Places

• Bloedel Reserve, Bainbridge Island, Wash., www.bloedelreserve.org

• Cleveland Botanical Garden, Cleveland, www.cbgarden.org/

• Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, www.dbg.org

• Dumbarton Oaks Gardens, Washington, D.C., www.doaks.org/

• Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden, Coral Gables, Fla., www.fairchildgarden.org/

• Garden in the Woods, Framingham, Mass., www.newfs.org

• Holden Arboretum, Kirtland, Ohio, www.holdenarb.org

• International Rose Test Garden, Washington Park, Portland, Ore., washingtonparkpdx.org/attractions/

• Huntington Botanical Gardens, San Marino, Calif., www.huntington.org

• Lan Su Chinese Garden, Portland, Ore., www.portlandchinesegarden.org/

• Longwood Gardens, Kennett Square, Pa., www.longwoodgardens.org

• Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, Charleston, S.C., www.magnoliaplantation.com

• Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Mo., www.mobot.org

• New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, N.Y., www.nybg.org

• San Francisco Botanical Garden, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, www.sfbotanicalgarden.org

• U.S. Botanic Garden Conservatory, Washington, D.C., www.usbg.gov

• Wave Hill, Bronx, N.Y., www.wavehill.org

• Winterthur Garden, Winterthur, Del., www.winterthur.org

Comments ()
We are now using Facebook comments to offer a more inclusive, social and constructive discussion. Guidelines: Keep it civil and on topic; no profanity, vulgarity, slurs or personal attacks. People who harass others or joke about tragedies will be blocked. If a comment violates these standards or our terms of service, click the X in the upper right corner of the comment box. To find our more, read our FAQ.

This article filed under

Latest Video

MostViewed

Today
Yesterday
Most Commented
Top Jobs

    View all Top Jobs Place a job ad

    MarketsReport

    DHExtras

       
    • Newspaper next section - Newspaper next section Report card checker - report card checker
    • Dh innovation award 2 - Dh innovation award 2 Zillow /real estate page
    • Discuss refer On Guard series
    • Newspaper archives -- Monday or anyday Mike North

    FacebookActivity

    BusinessDirectory

    Connect with a business or service in your area fast. First select a town, then enter a search term or choose one of the listed popular searches:

    Don't see your town listed? Visit our full directory to begin your search.