2014 readers choice results
Article updated: 1/30/2013 6:54 AM

Fed's new voting lineup won't likely alter policy

Buy this photo Buy this photo
Gallery Image

The four new voting members on the Federal Reserve policy committee from top left, Esther George, James Bullard, Charles Evans, and Eric Rosengren.

Associated Press

About this Article

The cast of voting members on the Federal Reserve's policy committee is changing this year. Their policies probably won't be. Chairman Ben Bernanke will likely retain a solid majority on the 12-member committee for his drive to keep interest rates low well into the future despite critics who worry about the risks.As the committee meets for the first time this year, Bernanke and the six other members of the Fed's board in Washington will keep their votes. So will William Dudley, president of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York. All have permanent votes. But among the presidents of the 11 other Fed regional banks, four are losing votes and four are gaining them.
Galleries by Category