Breaking News Bar
updated: 10/26/2012 6:14 PM

CLC scholarship, sports banquet Nov. 1

Success - Article sent! close
College of Lake County submission

The College of Lake County Foundation's 24th Keith Ryan Scholarship Fund and Sports Banquet will be held Thursday, Nov. 1, at Midlane Golf Resort in Wadsworth.

The banquet will recognize 12 new inductees into the Lake County High Schools Sports Hall of Fame and three CLC scholarship recipients: Elizabeth Gutierrez, Joshua May and Francisco Rivera.

The banquet is held in memory of the late Keith Ryan, a popular sportscaster who spent nearly 25 years promoting local sports in Lake County. Proceeds from the event help fund three annual $1,000 scholarships for CLC students -- one for a student pursuing a career in print or broadcast communications and two for a sophomore male and female student athlete. Since the scholarship's inception, more than $60,000 has been raised for journalism students and student-athletes.

Scholarship winner Elizabeth Gutierrez attended Stevenson High School, where she participated in soccer for four years. She plays on the CLC soccer team and plans to be a special-education teacher or an aide at the elementary school level.

Joshua May graduated from Stevenson High School in 2009 and he is in his second year at CLC. He currently serving as co-editor-in-chief of CLC's student newspaper, The Chronicle. Last March, he won two awards at the Illinois Community College Journalism Association Conference, including a first place in news writing.

Francisco Rivera attended Zion-Benton Township High School, where he participated in soccer and wrestling for four years. He plays on the CLC soccer team and is majoring in physical education. After graduating from CLC, he plans to pursue a health and fitness career.

Being inducted into the Lake County High Schools Sports Hall of Fame are Gary Bereiter (Zion-Benton High School), Brian Colbert (North Chicago High School and Zion-Benton High School), Eric Eckenstahler (Antioch High School), Norm Erickson (Libertyville High School), Andy Farrisey (Stevenson High School), John Graham (Mundelein High School), Randy Kuceyeski (Libertyville High School), Dr. Edward May (Warren High School), Quiande Moore (Zion-Benton High School), Joel Peebles (Grayslake Central High School), Don Swanson (Northern Officials Association) and Kevin Walter (Libertyville High School).

The event begins at 6 p.m. with a reception, followed by dinner and the program at 7 p.m. Tickets are $50 per person or $360 for a table of eight and are available by calling the foundation at (847) 543-2646.