Breaking News Bar
updated: 3/1/2012 7:53 AM

New scholarship honors Elk Grove's fallen soldiers

Success - Article sent! close
Submitted by District 59

The Fallen Soldier Memorial Scholarship Program is a joint effort of the Community Character Coalition of Elk Grove and the village government of Elk Grove Village. These scholarships are based upon the Character Counts pillar of Citizenship.

They honor four young citizens of Elk Grove Village who made the ultimate sacrifice for the nation: James S. Cronin, Philip E. Frank, John T. Olsen and Adriana N. Salem.

Scholarship applicants must be Elk Grove Village residents and graduating seniors. The scholarships are not based on financial need and there are no restrictions regarding race, religion, national origin, gender or physical disability. An essay on citizenship is part of the application process.

Three $2,000 scholarships will be awarded in 2012 to be used at a four-year college or university, a junior/community college, a trade school or a vocational school. Scholarship applications will be reviewed by the scholarship committee of the Community Character Coalition of Elk Grove. Only completed applications with all required documentation will be considered.

Fallen Soldier Memorial Scholarship applications are available on the Community Character Coalition website at They are also available at Elk Grove, Conant and St. Viator high schools. Completed applications must be received no later than 3 p.m. on April 13. Submit applications to: Village of Elk Grove Village; Attn: Fallen Soldier Memorial Scholarship; 901 Wellington Ave.; Elk Grove Village, IL 60007.

The scholarships will be awarded at the May 8 Elk Grove Village board meeting.